ASP J-Bay Open Power Rankings Derek Rielly

ASP J-Bay Open Power Rankings Derek Rielly 2014

ASP J-Bay Open Power Rankings Derek Rielly

Derek Rielly’s Power Rankings

Derek Rielly gives his Power Rankings after the J-Bay Open as we head into the Billabong Pro Teahupoo in Tahiti.

1. Kolohe Andino 6. Adriano De Souza
2. Joel Parkinson 7. Kelly Slater
3. Mick Fanning 8. Michel Bourez
4. Taj Burrow 9. Matt WIlkinson
5. Gabriel Medina 10. Jordy Smith

Did you see Kolohe drain the life out of his opponent, Julian Wilson, whose own body seems to have lost its magic rhythm? Women shrieked on the beach hysterically. Others snorted and whistled and laughed like hyenas. I place Kolohe Andino at number one because has there ever been such a dramatic change in form? In the space of four months, Kolohe has changed from a precious little princess grimly tagging waves to a long-haired albatross soaring skyward, and damn the consequences. I swear, if he wanted, Kolohe could unfurl his tongue and catch flies straight out of mid-air!

– Derek Rielly -more-

Billabong Pro Teahupoo Tahiti Past Winners 1999-2013

Billabong Pro Teahupoo Tahiti Past Winners 1999-2013

Billabong Pro Teahupoo Tahiti Past Winners 1999-2013If the mutant wave comes alive, it might be tough for the young guns to dethrone the veterans. Time to pick your Fantasy Surfer teams!

Winner Runner-up
2013 Adrian Buchan Kelly Slater
2012 Mick Fanning Joel Parkinson
2011 Kelly Slater Owen Wright
2010 Andy Irons CJ Hobgood
2009 Bobby Martinez Taj Burrow
2008 Bruno Santos Manoa Drollet
2007 Damien Hobgood Mick Fanning
2006 Bobby Martinez Fred Patacchia
2005 Kelly Slater Damien Hobgood
2004 CJ Hobgood Nathan Hedge
2003 Kelly Slater Taj Burrow
2002 Andy Irons Luke Egan
2001 Cory Lopez CJ Hobgood
2000 Kelly Slater Shane Dorian
1999 Mark Occhilupo CJ Hobgood

Jeremy Flores Suspended From Tahiti

Jeremy Flores suspended from Tahiti 2014

Jeremy Flores suspended from Tahiti 2014LOS ANGELES, Calif. (Friday, July 18, 2014)–ASP Top 34 surfer, Jeremy Flores, has been suspended from competition until August 27, 2014, resulting from an incident which occurred following his Round 2 heat at the J-Bay Open in South Africa on July 12, 2014.

The incident involved the athlete confronting ASP officials and event staff in an unsportsmanlike manner and resulted in the Rules and Disciplinary Committee, after completing its investigation, fining the surfer US$6,000 and suspending him from ASP competitions until August 27, 2014. As a result, Flores is ineligible to compete in both the Vans US Open of Surfing in Huntington Beach (an ASP Prime QS event) and the Billabong Pro Tahiti (an ASP WCT event).

Flores has apologized, both in writing and in-person, to the ASP officials involved and will be eligible to return to competition at the completion of his suspension and in time for the Hurley Pro at Trestles from September 9 – 20, 2014. Flores has told ASP officials that he accepts full responsibility for his actions and that he will not be contesting the suspension or fine.